Cheng Hoon Teng Temple

Malaysia's oldest traditional Chinese temple

English | 中文


History of the temple

Cheng Hoon Teng was founded in the 1600s by the Chinese Kapitan Tay Kie Ki alias Tay Hong Yong (Tay Kap) and Kapitan Li Wei King alias Li Koon Chang (Li Kap) during the Ching Dynasty.  A total number of 10 Kapitans China were appointed by the Dutch authorities during their period in Malacca and all of them contributed much to the establishment, growth and welfare of the Temple.

In its early years, besides serving the community's religious needs, the temple also functioned as the official administrative centre and a court of justice for the Kapitans.

Besides Kapitan Tay, other prominent Kapitans included Li Wei King, Chan Lak Kua and Chua Su Cheong. Kapitan Chua was responsible for rebuilding the temple in 1801 while the Kapitans and Teng Choos after him contributed towards the aesthetic and structural additions of the building.

In 1824, the British abolished the Kapitan system and the leader of the Temple, now known as "Teng Choo", assumed some of the Kapitan's responsibilities.

Subsequently, a Board of Trustees was formed to look after the temple. The pioneers included included Tun Sir Tan Cheng Lock, who also initiated the Temple’s unique incorporation under an act of Parliament {Cheng Hoon Teng Temple Incorporation Ordinance 1949}. To the locals, the temple is also known as Kebun Datok (Gods' Garden) and Kwan Yin Teng.


Besides Cheng Hoon Teng Temple, Cheng Hoon Teng Temple incorporated manages eight other temples. These are:-

Poh San Teng Yong Chuan Tian
Cheng Wah Keong Geok Ee Keong
Thian Teck Keong Leong San Teng
Wah Teck Keong Keok Kang Bio


News & Events

News and events of Cheng Hoon Teng temple

Read More »

Festival Dates

Festival date of Cheng Hoon Teng temple

Read More »

Religious Activities

The temple continues to serve the spiritual needs of the Chinese community in Malacca. It is a centre for the propagation of...

Read More »